NAICS codes

The North American Industry Classification System-NAICS-codes were developed jointly by the United States, Canada, and Mexico to group businesses into industries based on their primary activities.

Explanation of NAICS Codes
The first five digits are generally the same in all three countries; the last digit designates national industries. The first two digits designate the largest business sector, and the third digit designates the subsector. For example, 33 is manufacturing; 334 represents computer and electronic equipment manufacturing. The fourth digit designates the industry group. For example, 3341 designates computer and peripheral equipment manufacturing. The fifth digit designates particular industries, and the last digit represents the United States industries. Although NAICS codes came into use in 1997, some business databases and reference sources still use SIC codes.

The NAICS Sectors are:
11 Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting
21 Mining
22 Utilities
23 Construction
31-33 Manufacturing
42 Wholesale Trade
44-45 Retail Trade
48-49 Transportation and Warehousing
51 Information
52 Finance and Insurance
53 Real Estate and Rental and Leasing
54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services
55 Management of Companies and Enterprises
56 Administrative and Support, Waste Management, and Remediation Services
61 Education Services
62 Health Care and Social Assistance
71 Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation
72 Accommodations and Food Services
81 Other Services, Except Public Administration
92 Public Administration

U.S. Census Bureau North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) home

Last Update: 29 Jul 12:01 | Tagged with: BUS